Board of Trustees

CCR’s Board is made up of some of the country’s leading progressives, from lawyers and longtime activists, to human rights pioneers and academics. Many began their association with CCR as volunteers, interns, staff attorneys, movement allies, co-counsel, and advisors, and they contribute to our vision and our effectiveness through their expertise, passion, and commitment to social justice.



, Senior Activist Fellow, Barnard Center for Research on Women; Director of Strategic Collaborations, Griot Circle; Executive Director, Emeritus, Astraea Lesbian Foundation for Justice

Lumumba Akinwole-Bandele

, Senior Community Organizer, LDF; Adjunct Lecturer, Lehman College

Laila Al-Arian

, Writer and Journalist

Leo Aldridge

, Criminal Defense Attorney, San Juan, Puerto Rico

Amanda Alexander

, Assistant professor and Postdoctoral Scholar in Afro-American studies and law at the University of Michigan; Member of the, Michigan Society of Fellows

Natasha Lycia Ora Bannan

, Associate Counsel, LatinoJustice PRLDEF

Colette Pichon Battle

, Executive Director of the Gulf Coast Center for Law & Policy (GCCLP)

Rosemary R. Corbett

, Faculty Fellow, Bard Prison Initiative

Lisa Crooms-Robinson

, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor of Law, Howard University

Michelle DePass

, President and Chief Executive Officer of Meyer Memorial Trust

Jean Entine

, Retired

Marjorie Fine

, Grantmaking Consultant 

Katherine Franke

, Sulzbacher Professor of Law, Gender, and Sexuality Studies, Columbia University

Justin Hansford

, Associate Professor of Law and Executive Director of the Thurgood Marshall Civil Rights Center

Leila Hessini
Vice Chair

, Vice President, Programs at Global Fund for Women

Nsombi Lambright

, Executive Director, Director of One Voice

Monami Maulik

, International Advocate on Gender and Migration;  Founder, DRUM

Gay McDougall

, Distinguished Scholar-in-Residence, Leitner Center for International Law and Justice, Fordham University School of Law

Last modified 

May 10, 2018