Donita Judge

Associate Executive Director

Donita Judge is Associate Executive Director at the Center for Constitutional Rights. She has responsibility for the organization’s operational planning and provides leadership in the implementation of its strategic vision and goals. Prior to joining the Center of Constitution Rights, she was co-director of Advancement Project Nationals’ Power and Democracy Program in Washington, D.C. and served in several management roles and strategic planning sessions focused on sharpening the organization’s programmatic goals. She was co-counsel in multiple national voting rights cases, including the 2016 landmark North Carolina voter suppression case, NAACP v. McCrory. In 2008, she successfully challenged the lack of due process for 600,000 Ohio voters in advance of the 2008 general election and prevented their removal from the voter rolls. 

She has moderated and participated in numerous panels discussing the right to vote and was keynote speaker at the NAACP Morris County (NJ) branch’s 45th Freedom Fund Gala, “Pursuing Liberty in the Face of Injustice” and the AKA Sorority, Inc. Theta Pi Omega chapter’s “MLK 50Forward:  Lifting Our Voices For Change” in 2018. 

She has a law degree from Rutgers University Law School in Newark, NJ and is a Kinoy/Stavis Fellow. She graduated Phi Beta Kappa from Rutgers University in Newark. She is the recipient of many awards, including the 2014 Garden State Bar Association’s Oliver Randolph Award, celebrating the legacy of a civil rights advocate who, in 1914, became New Jersey’s first African American admitted to practice law in the state, and the 2017 Rutgers Newark National Lawyers’ Guild “Arthur Kinoy Award.” During the university’s 250-year anniversary celebration in 2016, she was selected as a Rutgers University Fellow, the university’s highest award. Media company ROI-NJ awarded Donita the 2020 Person of Color Return on Influence, Impact, and Investment honor. 

Currently, she is the vice chairperson of the New Jersey Advisory Committee to the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights and a National Board Member of the American Civil Liberties Union.