ALBA Immigration, Internationalism & Social Justice Roundtable and Ceremony

CCR is proud to co-sponsor the 77th Annual Celebration & Presentation of the ALBA/Puffin Award for Human Rights Activism.


1:30 - 3:00 p.m. Roundtable Discussion: “The Politics of Immigration”

Panelists: Cristina Jiménez, Managing Director, UWD; Natalia Aristizábal, youth organizer & UWD board member; Kevin Kang, founding UWD board member; Prof. Michael Wishnie, William O. Douglas Clinical Professor, Yale Law School; and NY Senator Gustavo Rivera. Moderated by Amy Goodman, Democracy Now!

Honorary Committee: Harry Belafonte, Richard Masur, Pete Seeger & Oliver Stone.

Benefit tickets: $150 (Includes pre-event, lunch, and priority sitting at the Annual Celebration). Purchase tickets here.

3:30 – 5:30pm Award Presentation & Reception

Presentation of the third ALBA/Puffin Award for Human Rights Activism to United We Dream, with music by Barbez and Bernardo Palombo. Reception to follow.

Special Guests: Perry Rosenstein, President of the Puffin Foundation; Kate Doyle, recipient of the 2012 ALBA/Puffin Award for Human Rights Activism

Host Committee: Dan Czitrom,  Kevin Dyer, Sebastiaan Faber, Jeanne Houck, Jo Labanyi, Julia Newman, Ellyn Polshek, Michael Ratner, Fredda Weiss

Tickets may be purchased here, or by sending a check payable to ALBA to 799 Broadway, Suite 341, NYC, NY 10003; Tel. +1 212.674.5398;

What: Roundtable discussion and Reception
When: Sunday, May 5, 2013 1:00-5:30 p.m.
Where: Michael Schimmel Center for the Arts, Pace University (3 Spruce Street, New York, NY 10038).

ALBA: Teaching History – Promoting Activism – Defending Human Rights

Sponsored by the Puffin Foundation, the Department of Political Science at Pace University and the Center for Constitutional Rights.


Add to My Calendar Sunday, May 5, 2013


Last modified 

April 26, 2013