Tell Congress to Oppose Legislation Blocking Gitmo Transfers

Print Friendly and PDF


Urge Congress to oppose amendments to defense appropriations legislation that would prevent transfers from Guantánamo. Congress should not backtrack on the authority it gave President Obama to expedite transfers.


We need your help. Later today, Congress will vote on amendments to defense appropriations legislation that would prevent transfers from Guantánamo and ensure the prison remains open. One of the most draconian amendments, filed by Senator Ayotte, would effectively ban all transfers. Men like our clients, who have been detained for over a decade and are cleared for transfer, may not be able to return home to their families or be resettled safely in third countries.

We must influence this vote. Please contact the following key House and Senate leaders right now and urge them to vote against these amendments.

Key Representatives:
Contact them NOW, and ask them to oppose the Walorski and Cotton amendments during the House vote today.
House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi
Call (202) 225-4965
E-mail Wyndee Parker ( and Reva Price (

Democratic Whip Steny Hoyer
Call (202) 225-4131
E-mail Daniel Silverberg:

Rep. Adam Smith
Call (202) 225-8901
E-mail William Johnson:
Key Senators:
Contact them now and through the weekend, and ask them to oppose the Ayotte amendment during the Senate vote next week.
Senator Mark Begich: e-mail or call (202) 224-3004
Senator Bob Casey: e-mail or call (202) 224-6324
Senator Jeff Flake: e-mail or call (202) 224-4521
Senator Heidi Heitkamp: e-mail or call (202) 224-2043
Senator Angus King: e-mail or call (202) 224-5344
Senator Mary Landrieu: e-mail or (202) 224-5824
Senator Joe Manchin: e-mail or call (202) 224-3954
Senator John McCain: e-mail or call (202) 224-2235
Senator Bill Nelson: e-mail or call (202) 224-5274
Senator Rand Paul: e-mail or call (202) 224-4343
Senator Jeanne Shaheen: e-mail or call (202) 224-2841
Senator Debbie Stabenow: e-mail or call (202) 224-4822
Senator Jon Tester: e-mail or call (202) 224 2644
Senator John Walsh: e-mail or call (202) 224 2651
Senator Mark Warner: e-mail or call (202) 224-2023
Thank you for taking action!