Peace Award

Print Friendly and PDF

Awarded From

War Resisters League

September, 2007
Intended to honor an organization or person whose work represents the League’s radical nonviolent platform of action, the award was first given in 1958 to Jeannette Rankin, the only Congressperson to vote against U.S. entry into both world wars.

Subsequent awardees have included civil rights activists Bayard Rustin and Bob Moses; political folk singer Odetta, poet-priest Daniel Berrigan, military resisters from both gulf wars, and Fernando Suarez del Solar of Military Families Speak Out, along with groups like Vietnam Veterans Against the War and the Committee for the Rescue and Development of Vieques. Speakers at Peace Award events have included Nobel laureates Martin Luther King Jr. and Pearl S. Buck, poet Allen Ginsberg, and labor organizer A. Philip Randolph.